Home > TV News

Not One Player Elected to the 2013 Hall of Fame

What previously looked like a strong possibility has become a confirmed and controversial certainty. Despite a field loaded with qualified candidates, no one will be elected to the Hall of Fame the writer’s ballot this year. It’s the first time that’s happened since 1996 and the 16th overall since 1940, though none of those years featured such a deep crop of candidates nor such a divisive issue like PED abuse.

Talk about making a statement.  Guys like Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Sammy Sosa, and Mark McGuire are going to have to wait quite a bit longer before journalists cool down.  About the only “clean” guy on the ballot other than some old schoolers like Jack Morris and Lee Smith, Craig Biggio, didn’t come close on his first time around.

In my personal opinion, Bonds and Clemens will eventually make it in consider their entire era was filled with steroids.  But for now, the fame remains a ghost town for this year.

More articles by

Leave a Reply